20130311

Gluten Free Pesto & Goat Cheese Crostini // Food for St. Patricks day




Last week I started my St. Patricks day menu off with some home made Corned beef, which you should all have marinating in your fridges right now. right ? ;)

This week, I will have some more items to add to your march 17th menu, starting today with the appetizer. 

Obviously, there needs to be some green things done on St. Patties day, and what better way to do it than with my favorite saucy bizness ever. 
And by that I mean Pesto of course.
So for the starting course, I made these gluten free/dairy free pesto goat cheese crostini's.



This is a super easy snack to whip up, but its packed full of deliciousness. So delicious in fact, that it took me quite a few days to be able to look through these pictures. Every time I tried to bring them up, I just wanted to eat more of these little toasts. I wish I had some right now.


Since going dairy free, I have tried really hard to get myself to like goat cheese. My taste buds however. are just not having it. I've tried several different kinds of goat cheese, and none have them have worked out for me. I was just about to give up on said brand of cheese, until now.
 Paired with some lovely basil pesto, and a toasted gluten free baguette, the creamy goat cheese doesn't bother me one bit. I maybe, might have even liked it.


So heres the recipe my friends:


 You can find my pesto recipe here.
Like I said, I used Udi's new gluten free baguette. They are pretty small, (but really yummy) so it makes about 10 toasts, excluding the two ends.
You can also eat these little crostini's, without cooking the cheese and pesto. Just toast the bread, top and serve!


 Enjoy!

3 comments:

  1. What? Why was I not invited to partake of this tastiness? Goat cheese and pesto? Delish!

    ReplyDelete
  2. These look delicious. My mum has a dairy intolerance so she always missed out on the yummy cheese starters. I am definitely going to be making these for her!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Anonymous15/3/17

    Goat cheese is milk from a mammal -- it is absolutely dairy so it's incredibly misleading to say it's dairy-free. You might want to clarify that you're doing cow milk free.

    ReplyDelete